Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Deadlift form check page

Gadsie is offline Senior Member

Deadlift form check

Primal Fuel
    Billie trips balls

yodiewan is offline Senior Member
    I am not an expert, but it looks like you are straigtening your knees/using the hip hinge too early. I think your knees should still be slightly bent until the bar is raised above them. Doing this should help put more emphasis on your glutes/hamstrings and less on your lower back since you can keep the bar closer to your body.

Your form on the way down is great. See how your knees bend as the bar passes them? Try to mimic that same motion, just in reverse of course, on the way up.

I recently read these articles from Eric Cressey:
    3 Coaching Cues for Strength and Conditioning Programs - Deadlift Technique Edition | Eric Cressey | High Performance Training, Personal Training
    Deadlift Dynamite: What a 1,000-Pound Pull Can Teach You | Eric Cressey | High Performance Training, Personal Training

My personal favorite cue that I found on a website a few years ago is to "push your knees out" when you are at the bottom about to start the lift. This fires your hip flexors and hamstrings so that they take the brunt of the weight at the bottom instead of your lower back.

Keep up the good work!
    Last edited by yodiewan; 11-15-2012 at 05:59 AM.

JennGlob is offline Senior Member
    Out of curiosity, are you supposed to put the bar down each time? I only deadlift with a kettlebell, and just take it to mid-shin on way down. I think doing so may help you emphasize the glutes and hamstrings, keeping a constant motion vs. starting over each rep. Feel free to disregard...
    Primal since 4/7/2012

Starting weight 140
    Current weigh 126

www.jenniferglobensky.blogspot.com

Jennifer

Owly is offline Senior Member
    A barbell deadlift is only complete if you set the weight back down again (even if it's just a touch and go, you still have to contact the floor).