Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A better cook since going primal page

Annieh is offline Senior Member

A better cook since going primal

Shop Now
    Does anyone feel that you have become a better cook since going primal?

I always thought of myself as an ordinary cook, I mean I can do it but doesn't everybody? Now I start to wonder if there's more to it.

Since going primal I have done so much more experimenting, and even the mistakes haven't been disasters, just something to improve upon.

Also I notice that I way prefer my own food to almost anything else I come across (not talking about eating in fancy restaurants here, I'm sure I would love that but it's not something I have the opportunity to do often). What I mean is just other homes, shared meals, or occasional basic eating places.

Perhaps my tastes have just become more picky. Other people seem to have no problem devouring stuff that I would now turn my nose up at. Does that happen to you?

Graycat is offline Senior Member
    I used to be an okay cook pre-primal, but I have definitely improved some. What I find really cool though is how much simpler and faster my meal preparation has become. Most of the things I cook are with only few ingredients. I don't mess with baking. This is something I had always considered unhealthy food, a waste of time and money. LOL

magicmerl is offline Senior Member
    I think it depends on where you start. I already knew how to cook, so being primal just means restricting the ingredients, finding some new ones, and mourning the loss of the best lasagne in the world.
    Disclaimer: I eat 'meat and vegetables' ala Primal, although I don't agree with the carb curve. I like Perfect Health Diet and WAPF Lactofermentation a lot.

Griff's cholesterol primer
    5,000 Cal Fat <> 5,000 Cal Carbs
    Winterbike: What I eat every day is what other people eat to treat themselves.
    TQP: I find for me that nutrition is much more important than what I do in the gym.