Thread: Calisthenics Routine? page

VietnamGump is offline Junior Member

Calisthenics Routine?

Primal Fuel
    Hey guys. First post here. I am 21 years old and a full time student with a part time job. I used to be 170lbs and in shape but am now 200lbs and out of shape. Getting to the gym is just difficult. I have started doing calisthenics only for general fitness and weight loss and love it. Just wanted some feedback on my routine

Monday: pushups (regular, wide, decline), inverted bodyweight rows
    Tuesday: off
    Wednesday: burpees (100 for time)
    Thursday: off
    Friday: burpees
    Saturday: pushups (Hindu, tricep), inverted rows
    Sunday: off

I can only do several dead hang pullups so I do a few sets and then switch to rows. I will add pullups as I get better. I play ice hockey and basketball so I don't do any direct cardio. I also add a few sets of bodyweight leg exercises on Monday and Saturday. What do you guys think? Any advice is helpful as I am fairly new to the calisthenics world

iniQuity is offline Senior Member
    I would add more variety, I think you would have done that in the future anyway. Push ups are awesome, but they also get old.

Your off days are when you're doing ice hockey/basketball or are they totally off? do you need the time for other stuff? cus while rest is important, you're probably not exerting yourself enough to need a day of total rest. Only if you're sore should you take a full day's rest (assuming you have the time for a workout, that is)

It sounds like you're trying to do full-body stuff when you do work out, which is good. I would structure it like this:

Monday: push ups, pull ups, squats (working up to single leg variations)
    tuesday: off (or sports)