Thread: Grass-Fed/organic Question page

astrummortis is offline Junior Member

Grass-Fed/organic Question

Primal Fuel
    Hello, all, I've just got a quick question as my first post!

So I've been trying to eat primally now (slowly working myself off of my previous 'diet) for about three weeks. This seems to be the week where I'm *finally* getting 100 or less carbs a day, and I feel great! The thing is, however, that I'm a starving artist, so all of this food that's making me feel great isn't grass fed or organic.

So I've gone about this issue just like I've gone about the eating kosher idea that I do: I'll eat the right type of foods, but there's no organic or kosher guarantee. Thankfully they both lead to the same easiest solution: less processed, more whole food.

So anyway, here's my question: which is more important? Primal type food, or organic/grass-fed food? Frankly, with a budget of 100 dollars a week to feed three people, I can't do organic or grass-fed. So does it matter that I'm doing primal at all if I can't? Or is primal-type food better than plain-old SAD food?

Thanks!
    -C.

Drumroll is offline Senior Member
    People seem to THINK they can't afford grass-fed or pasture-raised meats and eggs, but stick to the cheaper cuts such as beef chuck roast, ground beef, pork chops, ground pork, bacon/pork belly, or pork shoulder roast, you can do it!

I would make high-quality meats a bigger priority over organic veggies because of the lack of added hormones and the lower level of toxins that may be present in the meats and eggs you're eating.

astrummortis is offline Junior Member
    Well, I can do eggs because they're only a dollar more. I do know that, so I suppose I could have pointed that out.

Maybe I should look at prices again; I only ever do ground beef, [I really like to get chicken, and I do try and get organic chicken when possible] but I feel like every time I get the organic stuff I'm suddenly spending 120$ instead of 100$.