Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Eating primal for 2 weeks but not feeling good page

Bern is offline Member

Eating primal for 2 weeks but not feeling good

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Hi all,
    To introduce myself, I'm a 22 yr old nurse, recently married, living in Tasmania, Australia and after reading Mark's blog for a while and watching the documentaries "Fat Head" and "My Big Fat Diet", I got very excited about what primal eating/living might do for me. While I have eaten strictly gluten and dairy free for the last 2 years because of intolerances, and "fructose friendly" for the last 5 months after finding out I had fructose malabsorbtion, I had been feeling better but not 100%. I find that shift work drains me a lot and would really love to have more energy.

So 2 weeks ago I began a primal diet and I've stuck to it pretty well. This is what my diet roughly looks like:
    B: 3-4 egg omolette cooked in coconut oil with either herbs, shredded meat or grated veggies, served with spinach or rocket.
    L: BAS made up of lettuce or spinach, carrot and/or zucchini, a little tomato or capsicum, olives and some sort of meat eg. cooked chicken breast, left over beef hamburgers (homemade) or tuna
    D: some sort of cooked meat (such as steak or the pulled pork recipe) with veggies - similar to those in the salad, sometimes some cooked veggies such as roast parsnip and sweet potato (try to limit sw. potato, don't have any white potato).
    Snacks: usually just a handful of pumpkin seeds (can't have many nuts as they contain fructans - which break down to fructose, which gives me tummy problems)

Over the last 2 weeks on the diet I have noticed:
    1) I actually feel like I have LESS energy than before. I'm soo tired when I get home from work I can't do much with the rest of my day. I'm a bit more irritable too