Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Why are red kidneys beans the enemy in the primal diet? page

Barefoot Gentile is offline Senior Member

Why are red kidneys beans the enemy in the primal diet?

Primal Fuel
    In the winter I make a lot of vegetarian soups and they load with red kidney beans. Also when I training for marathon/ultra-marathon the red kidney bean is my staple source of energy and protein. Especially when I get sick of eating dead animal carcass.

Mark doesn't go into detail in his book why the red kidney bean is an evil source of food? I have been eating them for 10 years without any issues.

Tribal Rob is offline Senior Member
    Anything you have to soak for 12 hours and then boil the heck out of to remove enough toxins to make them eddible is a risk to eat as there are inevitably toxins left. No-one is gonna come round your house telling you you arn't in the paleo clubanymore and take yor membership card if you wanna eat then, just be aware they are not optimal and make you fart
    You know all those pictures of Adam and Eve where they have belly button? Think about it..................... take as long as you need........................

meeshar is offline Senior Member
    Yeah, kidney beans are one of the most toxic beans--they have a lectin called phytohaemagglutinin, which can poison you if they're not properly soaked and cooked long enough. The FDA even has a page on kidney bean poisoning. BBB - Phytohaemagglutinin

bob loblaw is offline Senior Member
    If you don't feel bad, eat all the beans you want.

The bean hate is mostly due to what is in beans, rather than the effect beans have on people . IF beans effect you negatively, obviously don't eat them. But otherwise, I don't care what anyone says, logic says beans are fine.