Thread: Hypertrophy nonsense page

PrimalHunter is offline Senior Member

Hypertrophy nonsense

I'm interested in developing "hypertrophy nonsense," as Mehdi from StrongLifts calls it. (Apparently I hold it in higher regard than he does.)

I've been lifting weights for 18 years, mostly with no results. The exceptions where I actually showed improvement are (1) when I first started at age 19, (2) when I took creatine a couple years later, (3) when I started eating like a horse a couple years after that, and (4) when I started StrongLifts earlier this year.

There was something magical about StrongLifts, but I don't know what. Maybe it was the particular combination of exercises, maybe it was the whole body routine rather than a split, maybe it was the training frequency, maybe it was the rep count...I don't know. I guess it's even possible that it was all a consequence of primal eating, and the training had nothing to do with it.

But something worked. After years of little to no results, I tried StrongLifts and made significant gains in strength and hypertrophy nonsense. Squats up 100 pounds in three months, deadlifts up 85. Arms, shoulders, back, and legs bigger, even though I lost weight.

Around the 3 month point, I did my second deload on every exercise and switched from 5x5 to 3x5. And after that, the gains stopped. I haven't added any weight to the big lifts in the last 4 months. Actually, I lost strength when I lost some fat (a fair tradeoff to me).

I wasn't expecting to hit the wall this soon. I thought I'd keep progressing (just more slowly) on 3x5, then 1x5, then Madcow. But now I'm revisiting my goals.

Here's the thing: I don't really care about gaining strength without muscle. I know, that's blasphemous to say around here. But take a look at the testimonials in the StrongLifts ebook. These people have gotten very strong but still don't look good. In one case, I thought the before and after pics might have been switched. That's a major fail in my book.