Thread: Not Eating Enough? page

KJN
    KJN is offline Junior Member

Question Not Eating Enough?

Primal Fuel
    Good morning! I have been doing the "caveman diet" for a couple of months now. I had lost a bit of weight before I started, but all together, I have lost 25 pounds so far. The problem is, I am up and down, up and down on my weight. It seems like it doesn't want to go anywhere. Several people have mentioned that I am probably not eating enough. I feel like I need to be eating all day long in order to get enough! In the morning I am ravenously hungry, but that's the only time I'm really hungry.

I go to Jazzercise 4 times a week, and for the past week, it seems like when I get into class and get started, I suddenly get very hungry, and about half-way through the class, I "run out of gas."

My question is, how long before a class should I eat in order to have enough fuel to function? I'm afraid if I eat too close to the class, I will get sick or feel really draggy, but eating more than an hour before doesn't seem to work either.

Any suggestions?

KJN

primalsun is offline Member
    You're going to need to post your height, gender, weight, activity level (other than jazzercise), and how much/what you eat on a daily basis. Give us an idea of calories if you can!

Knifegill is offline Senior Member
    Yes, list your weekly groceries.

One possibility from the way you describe your workout experience is that you might be riding the fence on becoming a fat-burner. If you're glycogen depleted and yet not efficient at metabolizing body fat, you'll bonk for sure! If, and a big fat "IF", that's the case, you'll want to look into either eating more carbs (paleo-friendly!) or almost none at all.

Or it's possible you've truly eaten below caloric needs long enough to slow your body down, thyroid games, etc. More info needed, for sure!

Turquoisepassion:
    Knifegill is christened to be high carb now!
    notontherug:
    the buttstuff...never interested.