Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dressing for salads page

nicholas is offline Junior Member

Question Dressing for salads

Shop Now
    Hey Gang,

I am just starting out and plan on eating alot of salads. One problem I have is that I only like two types of dressing which are ranch and italian. I have been eating an organic ranch dressing from Whole Foods. Is that bad for primal eating?

eva
    eva is offline Senior Member
    evoo+lemon juice+honey+mustard+salt and pepper (shake in a jar and pour over your BAS)

ZoŽ is offline Senior Member
    Yes that organic stuff is bad (It has to be made with some sort of n-6 vegetable oil). If you can find them, there are a few dressings at whole foods that are made with olive oil. Read all the labels and try to find one. Maybe ask the grocer for help... the one I found wasn't even in the salad dressing section of the store.

BayouPrimal is offline Member
    I've been making my own ranch dressing. I buy a ranch seasoning packet and use plain full fat organic yogurt as the base instead of mayo and sour cream. For a little kick, I also add a little Chipotle Tabasco sauce.

I'm sure that the seasoning has something bad for me in it, but it's a big step up from storebought dressing.

Either that, or a homemade dijon vinegarette.

FlyNavyWife is offline Senior Member
    bayouprimal, i do the same thing w/ranch seasoning but with sour cream then w/a little milk to thin it. Sounds good with the yogurt too!

EVOO+lemon juice + garlic salt is my favorite dressing though
    my husband likes me to make him one that's EVOO + balsamic vinegar + dijon mustard + herbs
    Eating lots but still hungry? Eat more fat. Mid-day sluggishness? Eat more fat. Feeling depressed or irritable? Eat more fat. People think you've developed an eating disorder? Eat more fat... in front of them.

Minky is offline Member