Thread: Hello All from gorgeous Virginia page

blissfull is offline Junior Member

Hello All from gorgeous Virginia

Primal Fuel
    Just wanted to post a quick introduction.
    I am a 43 year old mom to six, a yours, mine and ours kind of family.

I am new to primal after 20 years of vegetarianism, which actually was a very healthful time of my life-
    never really sick, full of energy, no weight problems etc. However after my last child was born things just
    were never the same, the baby weight just would not come off, I was tired all the time, feeling depressed
    and ALWAYS hungry. No motivation to do anything. After a year or so of just knowing something was
    not right I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disorder called Sjogren's. The diagnosis certainly gave me
    peace of mind knowing that it was not all in my head but it also came with some shocking revelations about
    my future and my quality of life. According to my ruematologist it was just something to accept as well as
    the twice yearly check ups and if I wanted he would be more than willing to put me on medications to
    suppress the immune system. AND I was to avoid sun exposure because it just makes my symptoms worse
    (that actually is/was kind of true, I was always feeling like I was on the verge of a heat stroke or something
    when I would work outside for any length of time and I would sunburn like crazy).

After hearing all this and accepting the reality of the situation I decided to become proactive in finding
    my way to feeling great again without the use of pharmaceuticals. I just cannot fathom going on a medication
    at the age of 40 that I know I will need to take for the rest of my life if it can at all be avoided.
    This is where the primal kicks in. A little bit googling on my computer and there it was. The gluten/wheat
    connection, the legume connection, the dairy connection, the nightshade connection etc...