Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Reverse Osmosis - Best Home Option? page

gilroy is offline Junior Member

Reverse Osmosis - Best Home Option?

Primal Fuel
    Turns out fluoride ain't good for ya! So, I'm looking to clean up the water at the house. I'm open to any and all advice on this as I have no experience here. But, my primary questions are:

1) Is this the best individual sink option? Or would you recommend something else?
    Amazon.com: 5-Stage Premium Reverse Osmosis System: Home Improvement

2) If I purchase an individual pipe filter (such as the linked product), I'm favoring purchasing two (kitchen sink + main shower). I'm wondering if I should go ahead and purchase a "whole home" system for the money. Any advice on whole home vs. individual pipe systems? And, any recommendation on a "whole home" product worth purchasing?

Thanks.
    Last edited by gilroy; 10-26-2012 at 05:31 PM.

Goldie is offline Senior Member
    Gilroy, we have one very similar to 1), in the kitchen. I use the R/O water for anything we drink or for what I cook with. I'm not sure a system like this would work in a shower. The tank holds the already filtered water, and once you "empty" it, it takes awhile to refill (the filtering process is not fast).

If you're worried about fluoride and other contaminants in all your house water, you'd be better off getting a whole-house system. Sorry, but I can't recommend any particular kind. Our little village (117 houses) has its own well with no added fluoride. My husband is on the village water board, and we have some of the best water in our state!

I'd suggest you contact a few of the larger plumbing companies in your area and see what they recommend.

gilroy is offline Junior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Goldie View Post