Thread: challenging, but rewarding page

lene is offline Junior Member

challenging, but rewarding

Shop Now
    I have some experience with following a low carb path, but haven't ever "done" paleo or primal except for a few days out of the week, in much the same way someone who normally eats meat would occasionally have a meatless day and therefore wouldn't actually be said to have "done" vegetarianism. This said, I've found so much wonderful info on this site, and have ordered all of the Primal books through amazon (I believe they are actually waiting at the PO for me to pick them up this afternoon, in fact.) I'm looking forward to working at this, and I have much incentive to put my energy into it.

I recently turned 52. I'm female, and fat. I have T2 diabetes, and Hashimoto's thyroiditis, and PCOS. All plenty of reason for me to pursue a healthier path than the standard nutritional approach has proven to be, yes? But wait, there's more! (Said with the infectious enthusiasm of a tv commercial.) For the past two or three years, I've had difficulty doing things like walking down stairs. Bending over. Lifting my arms above shoulder height. Rolling over in bed, or getting out of bed. I've had pain in my feet, hands, knees, hips, shoulders, head, and so on and on... Several different doctors have run more tests than I could imagine, and all of the tests have come back negative. I was running a fever nightly for over a year, temps over 101 degrees, and yet no tests could determine what was wrong. One doc even told me I wasn't really running a fever, I either had a broken thermometer or didn't know how to use it properly.