Thread: Suggestions for an on-call urban dweller page

Meghanner is offline Senior Member

Suggestions for an on-call urban dweller

Shop Now
    Hi Everyone,

I am undergoing somewhat of a transition right now and need some help adapting my primal lifestyle to it. I recently moved from the mountains in Alberta into the big city of Toronto. I work as a midwife and am on call ALOT (20-25 days/month). I used to be able to trail run and go for long walks/hikes when I lived in the mountains but my new job requires me to be within 30mins of the hospital (I live about 30 mins away currently) and there are not really many places to get out and run around.
    I've been doing some TRX workouts in my back yard and I'm not afraid of hitting the gym. I've been doing treadmill sprints once a week and regularly spinning but I feel like I need more to maintain my fitness. Anyone have any suggestions for me...besides getting a new job? FYI Its a one year contract and I'm looking for options outside the city with access to trails and more greenspace

jfreaksho is offline Senior Member
    The first recommendation I have is to make sure that with your TRX or bodyweight workouts, that you put together some sort of plan for how you are going to progress. Adding more repetitions only counts as progression for a while, then you have to add more difficulty. Weight lifting plans all include adding a certain amount of weight over time; bodyweight workouts should increase difficulty over time, in a structured way.

Second, sprints only need 50-100 yards. If you have a large lot, you might be able to do them in your yard, but you should be able to do them back and forth on your street. It's not as much fun as trail running, but still effective.

EyeOfRound is offline Senior Member