Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: No questions, just venting frustration .. maybe other women can relate ... page

gempdx44 is offline Member

No questions, just venting frustration .. maybe other women can relate ...

Primal Fuel
    Hi.

I am driving myself crazy with the scale and comparing myself to what others weigh. You would think at my age I would know better not to compare myself to others but apparently not, because I have been in a funk all day.

I'm 45 years old, 5'4" and for the life of me ... I cannot get below 150 pounds! Actually, I was 156 pounds this morning. I lift weights 2-3 times a week. I do HIIT 1-2 times a week. I try to incorporate as much slow movement as I can while having a desk job. I eat at a deficit, usually 1400-1600 calories a day. I eat whole foods and very little sugar or alcohol. I am hypo, but on Synthroid and feel great other than my weight.

Last time I had my bodyfat measured I was 23.8%, down from 31% when I started training in December. I know I should not worry about the scale, but for fuck's sake - 156 pounds?

Can it really be that my bones just "weigh more"? I always thought that was a load of crap my mom fed me, but when I see other women with similar bodies to mine that weigh 130 I have to wonder.

Anyone else out there feel like they weigh much more than they should? I never thought I'd be a size 6 at 156 pounds, but I am and sometimes - a size 4. That just seems so weird.
    "For the great enemy of the truth is very often not the lie—deliberate, contrived, and dishonest—but the myth—persistent, persuasive, and unrealistic ... we enjoy the comfort of opinions without the discomfort of thought."
    ---John F. Kennedy

primalrob is offline Senior Member
    i know you're not looking for answers, but i have an unsolicited piece of advice: get rid of your scale. size 6, size 4...clearly your body composition is terrific, so stop chasing a meaningless number on a scale. get out there and strut your stuff.