Thread: Who writes lyrics or poetry page

NowhereMan is offline Senior Member

Who writes lyrics or poetry

Primal Fuel
    This is completely unrelated to primal living in any way, but what the hell...

So I'm a musician and a songwriter. Unfortunately, the two aren't well balanced and my music composition far outshines my lyric writing abilities. So my question for those of you who write lyrics or other types of poetry is: where do you turn for your inspiration? It seems that musicians have a very concrete set of tools they use, and those tools allow them to express what they are feeling. I think it's safe to assume that lyricism is the same. So what are those tools exactly and how do I acquire them? With music I can admire a melody, a harmony, a rhythm, my understanding of poetic language is limited to appreciating it without allowing it to influence me.

If that makes any sense, I'd appreciate some feedback. Thanks guys.

EDIT: examples are welcome too

NZ primal Gwamma is offline Senior Member
    nowhereman, I wrote songs as a teenager, and love the way words fit together. We are talking totally amateurish, but all my music inspiration comes from stuff around me.
    Always have a pencil and pad with you, all the time, so that you can write down words that inspire, or themes that you want to explore. If I wake in the middle of the night with something inspiring, or think of something whilst our running/walking I must write it down, because I will have forgotten it by the morning or time I get back home.
    take your guitar up into the mountains, and just play. Let your mind wander.....and feel the music....

good luck and when you are done please post a video, so we can enjoy
    "never let the truth get in the way of a good story "

...small steps....

primalrob is offline Senior Member