Thread: Four Kids Need a Father, the story so far page

Trekkie is offline Junior Member

Four Kids Need a Father, the story so far

To ring in the new year, at the ripe age of 40 I held my fourth child for the first time on the occasion of her birth.

I was also just shy of 350 pounds, 5'10" tall. I've not always been huge, I graduated high school at 140 pounds. In my early 20s I gained enough weight to get from a 32 waist to a 38 but it took meeting my fabulous cook of a wife in my mid 20s to push my weight up. After the birth of my first (and at the time, the assumption only child we would have) I visited a friend in Seattle that I knew when I was thin. We attempted to go on "a hike" which to kids from Kansas is walk around on a trail. About halfway up the hill I was struggling. We made it to the top of a whopping 2000 foot trail but I was mortified I could not do it. So in 2002 I came home and did this Atkins thing I'd seen and heard about. I could eat what I liked instead of eating this bland list of garbage non fat stuff.

From July to December I stuck with it. Then something hit unexpectedly. I'd loss weight, about forty pounds. However my soft palette was collapsing at night and causing apnea. Also, my adenoids and tonsils should have been taken out decades earlier so my ENT convinced me to have a tonsillectomy and a UP3.