Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What happened to those of you that quit CrossFit? page

mark2741 is offline Member

What happened to those of you that quit CrossFit?

Primal Fuel
    Anyone here do CrossFit for a while and then quit? If so, what did you do to replace it, fitness-wise, and how did it/is it working for you?

I ask because I think I'm at the end of the CrossFit experience for me. But I'm afraid to quit as I am in the best shape of my life. Problem is, I always feel worn out and am always battling little nagging injuries ever since starting CrossFit.

A little about me:

I've been CrossFitting for about 4 months now. Every month I've contemplated quitting, but then I just say to myself, "One more month." It's not that it doesn't work in terms of giving me a great workout, but the problems are:

1. I'm too competitive. But I don't have the fitness level to back it up. This is a flaw with me of course, not CrossFit. And it would be fine...if I were in better shape and better at CrossFit, but many of the movements I am not even close and never will be due to lack of flexibility (to that point where it is now holding me back from getting better with the olympic lifts) and in some cases fear (Handstands, rope climbs).

2. I'm constantly either injured or just feeling like shit.

A few weeks ago I was doing cleans when I tweaked my wrist. It took 2 weeks to heal. And I have a pinched nerve in my neck/back (never was definitively diagnosed because of my claustrophobia - couldn't go through with the MRI). That has been acting up the last week ever since going all out with a WOD.

3. I am not motivated by the community/group workouts. At times, I get kind of annoyed with the "Keep it up!" and "One more rep!!!" that I get mid-WOD from my peers. I know I'm not normal in this regard : )