Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Thyroid Meds and going Primal page

stella81 is offline Junior Member

Thyroid Meds and going Primal

I'm a newbie to the forum (and to Primal), so hoping this is in the right place...

Yesterday was my first 'cold turkey day' going Primal (eggs & veggies for breakfast, sardines, avo and steamed veg with olive oil for lunch, chicken and veg for dinner, plus coconut flakes as a snack). I am on 90mg of Armour a day. This morning I woke up feeling awful. My heart was racing, I was alternating hot and cold, my palms were sweating, and I had some back pain over the area of my kidneys.

I know some of this is probably 'carb flu' but the racing heart seems more thyroid related (i.e. usually I get this effect if my dose is too high)? Can anyone shed any light on this? Would a more gradual approach be advised? And will my meds likely need adjusting? I should add, I would consider myself to be very carb/sugar addicted.

Any help much appreciated!

shep68 is offline Senior Member
    I'm on thyroid meds too...hypo if memory serves. I too went cold turkey and didn't experience any of the issues you described. In fact I'm hoping this lifestyle will eventually allow me to dump the meds. I would go see your Dr. and let him know what you experienced. Of course not all docs will be onboard w/ this program so be aware of that. Mine was very supportive when I told him my diet.

stella81 is offline Junior Member
    Thanks for replying shep68. I too am hoping to ditch the meds at some point. Maybe it's just bad carb flu then?

Quote Originally Posted by shep68 View Post