Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Are oats okay for ME? page

echoyjeff222 is offline Senior Member

Are oats okay for ME?

Primal Fuel
    I know that oats are mostly a no-no on the PB, but I've recently started to workout and have needed something to fuel me up afterwards. I'm a freshman in college as well, so I only have a instant pot (pressure pot) to cook with. It's incredibly easy to cook oatmeal with. I usually add oatmeal/buckwheat/millet PLUS veggies and meat + eggs so it's not just oatmeal. The thing is, I feel great afterwards. No sugar crash hours later, and I stay full for quite a long time. The only small thing that I notice after I eat is that I burp, perhaps a bit more than usual. However, I am eating a lot of food (3-4 bowls of it). I also soak overnight with lemon to remove as many phytates as I can. This being said, do you still think that I should avoid oats? Perhaps it's okay for my body, especially after workouts?
    feel free to take a look at my journal!

http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum...primal-journal!

Ollie is offline Senior Member
    3-4 bowls per day? I'd say thats too much if your trying to follow a primal diet. But then again if your having it with meat, veggies and eggs in order to get the extra carbs due to workouts I dont see a problem.

Damiana is offline Senior Member
    I used to make savory oatmeal too, and yes, it is quite tasty. It also leaves my stomach feeling like I weighed it down with a brick. I think Mark's verdict on oats is that they're ok, you could be eating worse stuff. If it works for you, then fine, but aren't there better recovery food options out there?
    F 28/5'4/100 lbs

"I'm not a psychopath, I'm a high-functioning sociopath; do your research."

Sandra in BC is offline Senior Member
    Some people tolerate dairy (yay meeee!!) others don't. Its not whether dairy is "ok"....its whether its ok for the individual.