I picked up Primal Blueprint the other day and started reading it today. So far it's making a lot of sense.

About me. 49yo from NC, married with a teen daughter. I used to be pretty active when I was younger but domestic life sort of derailed that. I used to surf, hike and bike a lot but that time has come and gone. A few weeks ago I turned 49 and a coworker asked me if I was kidding, she and a few others thought I was 40. I said yea, I'm 49. They told me that they thought I looked pretty good and I said "I used to look a lot better". Then it hit me. Rather than thinking back to when I was younger and much better shape I could do something about it and put myself back in shape. I can't do much about getting older but I can make sure the body is in good form. So, here I am.

I work in IT and am in college 3/4 time. That doesn't leave me a lot of spare time and my travel schedule is rather tough at times. Work isn't too stressful but school is taking its toll on me. I should drop a class but this is my last "long" semester, the rest is easy.

In the spring I went on a keto diet and lost 15 pounds. I've managed to keep 10 of them off still, so I can't complain too much. Keto was ok but I felt like I was having too many mind farts and couldn't concentrate. After reading about primal I think that this might be better for me. I still have a carb addiction but I was able to manage it with keto.

Right now I'm 5'11 and 199 or so. My activities include surfing and some walking. When it cools down I'll hike a lot more, I can't get motivated to hike when it's in the upper 90s and humid. Biking is something I'd like to start doing again, there are some great trails here and I just took my bike in for a component upgrade today. Plans are to start taking the bus to work three days per week (the other two I have school on, and the bus route to school is hella long and it's too far to walk and the bike lanes are non existant).