Thread: Primal Brain page

Khan is offline Junior Member

Primal Brain

Primal Fuel
    The main draw for me towards Primal Blueprint was like many, the physical aspect, I have lost over 75 pounds from my max (6'2" at 275) currently at ~198.

I have Tourrette's Syndrome and ADHD, and since eating lower carbs I have had a dramatic reduction in hyper/dazed states, and while on a day where I'm eating close to 50g of carbs max my tics as a a result of tourretes are practically nonexistant.

However I have one issue, my handwriting and thinking speed are far lower. I am wondering if anyone has any tips to get into a more "wired" state while sticking to low carbs? I used to use coffee to help speed up my focus but while eating low carbs coffee makes me feel a bit lightheaded. Are there primal friendly brain boosters/energy supplements anyone has had experience with?

I'm a college student and with strictly timed tests/deadlines I really need to be able to work faster.

Would greatly appreciate any tips!

Bosnic is offline Senior Member
    You sound like an ideal candidate for the GAPS diet.

As for brain boosters... sorry I can't think of any. When I lower my carbs my mood and cognition are much more relaxed, much more focused. If you find you need carbs, some berries or an apple to keep you going can't hurt. A history of coffee can lead to adrenals that are less than optimal, maybe you need to give them time to recover. And as always get enough sleep.

Read up on the GAPS diet! Very interesting, I actually forgot to mention but as of a year and a half now I've had a severe gluten/casein sensitivity, which has really amplified my brain problems (going gluten free was kind of the catalyst for stumbling upon primal blueprint)

I'm def. going to read up on the basis behind the GAPS diet, perhaps Ill find some similarities with things that tend to trigger/make me feel better.

Damiana is offline Senior Member