Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Primal/paleo and ADHD? page

PookDo is offline Senior Member

Primal/paleo and ADHD?

Shop Now
    Ive probably asked this before but any idea how being primal/paleo effects those with ADHD?

Dirlot is offline Senior Member
    Should be a bit help. As a former teacher I have never seen and ADHD with a good diet even my SAD standards, primal should make a huge difference.
    Eating primal is not a diet, it is a way of life.
    PS
    Don't forget to play!

hulahoop is offline Senior Member
    My brother has ADHD and when we were kids we ate a very clean diet as any additives would have him bouncing off the Walls. An additive free clean diet can only be a good thing

EmeraldRose is offline Senior Member
    My husband and oldest son (and probably middle one) have ADHD. My husband and I are both eating primally, and we are working on getting our boys primal as well. When my husband eats non-primal things, we both see a marked difference in his concentration and mood. The struggle with my oldest son is getting him to give up the breadsd and other bad carbs.

Recently I am doing my best to be even more vigilant about not getting anything with dyes and other additives. These toxins are much harder on those with ADHD than those without. From a recent seminar I attended on ADHD, I learned that the bodies of those with ADHD are unable to process those toxins, and they definitely contribute to the problems involved with the disorder.

Ok, short answer: Yes, a primal food choice will absolutely benefit a person with ADD/ADHD.

Blackcatbone is offline Senior Member
    I have ADHD and it definitely helps considerably. It doesn't "cure" it but makes it more manageable. Some find that with some coaching and diet that's enough to manage it without meds.

RitaRose is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by EmeraldRose View Post