Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The exception to the rule of "chronic cardio..." page

ErinC is offline Senior Member

The exception to the rule of "chronic cardio..."

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    I've been Paleo/primal for nearly two years and have really embraced every aspect of this lifestyle as much as I can. Obviously grains have been gone since day one; I've upped my saturated fat; I use ample coconut products; I've experiemented with different quantities of carbs; I've experimented with dairy elimination; I'm all but off of fruit; I've dialed in my sleep and my stress... I've pretty much run the gamut of Paleo hacks and have found a pretty good place that works for me.

The exception being the exercise thing.

I've been a fitness instructor for 18 years. On average I have taught anywhere from 8 to 16 fitness classes per week, for the entirety of my adult life. Ftness classes are, typically, an hour long and at a fairly high level of intensity. The majority of clases I teach (as any truly GOOD fitness class should be) are based on the principles of interval training, but... you're still doing it for an hour, so by its very nature it's not like HIIT, which one should only be able to sustain for a couple dozen minutes at the most - if they're doing it right. And in fact, I typically do it for TWO hours, teaching back-to-back classes, just to make my time at the gym more worthwhile.