Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: had my first heavy lifting workout at the gym, today i am pretty sore page

dirk41 is offline Senior Member

had my first heavy lifting workout at the gym, today i am pretty sore

Primal Fuel
    (Btw, I'm 22, 5'9, 140 lbs)

Went to the gym for the first ever on Sunday and did some heavy lifting. Following the StrongLifts program, I did the bench press and deadlifts. I'm pretty sore all over today, but in particular my lower back is pretty stiff. I think I might have done a few deadlifts with poor form. I was planning on lifting about 3 times a week but if I feel this sore I don't know if I can. Should I cut it down to 2 times per week since I am a beginner?

jfreaksho is offline Senior Member
    Form first, then weight. Volume with really low weight is just practicing the motion. Do more than listed if you need to practice. Drop the weight down a bit so you can really get the motion down before you add weight.

Jerseyjim is offline Senior Member
    First time ever at the gym and you went heavy? Uh oh, the soreness has only started. You'll probably be worse tomorrow.

Be patient, give your body some time to get used to a new activity. I'd do 3x/week with less weight. You'll know when your body is ready to increase resistance.

Fernaldo is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Jerseyjim View Post
    First time ever at the gym and you went heavy? Uh oh, the soreness has only started. You'll probably be worse tomorrow.

Be patient, give your body some time to get used to a new activity. I'd do 3x/week with less weight. You'll know when your body is ready to increase resistance.
    LOL, yup it will definitely be worse tomorrow. It will pass and you won't be as sore with repeated efforts. Just go easy and rest up and eat. If you are super sore, don't train. Go for a walk / do some dynamic stretching.
    "The problem with quoting someone on the Internet is, you never know if it's legit" - Abraham Lincoln