Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Please help a complete and utter novice with strength exercises page

PaleoMum is offline Member

Please help a complete and utter novice with strength exercises

Primal Fuel
    Hi guys - I've been eating primally for 6 months now and am down with the moving around and sprinting, but I've never done any strength training and have literally no clue how to begin. I've looked at the workout stuff on MDA and haven't found anything that's basic enough for me. I've tried reading the book but I don't understand the terminology in the bit about strength training.
    Can anybody tell me what to do? I have no equipment and no garden, so I can't swing a hammer around. Is it enough just to do pressups? Or do I need to get a personal trainer and go to a gym? And if I do that won't they want me to do chronic cardio?
    I know there must be so many knowledgeable people on this forum - if anyone can give me any really, really basic beginners info, that would be great. Thanks!

neighborhood fit is offline Junior Member
    There are plenty of body weight exercises you can do. Squats, push ups and jumping jacks to get started. You can even jump rope...not to mention walking.

All of these are effective and extremely no cost to start. If you live near a park, be creative with the playground. Let the inner kid out and go for it.
    “Being realistic is the most commonly traveled road to mediocrity.”

PrimalWannabeGirl is offline Senior Member
    You don't actually need a gym or a set of barbells to work on your strength. Here's an idea of how: