Thread: An "Accidental" Grok page

Navy87Guy is offline Junior Member

An "Accidental" Grok

Primal Fuel
    Well, not exatly -- but let me explain!

Greetings from Washington DC. By way of background, I'm a 47-yr old naval officer (25+ years). I'm a divorced dad, father of four (Sons 22, 20, and 9, daughter 12). I'm remarried and have a 21-yr old step-daughter.

Because of the Navy, I've maintained "decent" condition over the years, but certainly not good. I'm 6 ft and 215 lbs, and probably around 25% body fat. Most of it is stored in my "love handles". My wife and I love the outdoors, and try to take the kids hiking and kayaking whenever we can.

I say I'm an "accidental" Grok because it's something that was always in the back of my mind but I couldn't quite articulate. I hated the idea of going to the gym to "work out" -- I wanted to get my exercise just through daily activities and work around the house and yard on the weekends...kind of like Grok did. Of course, the modern life doesn't offer the same level of opportunity to do that on a regular basis as Grok's did, so I was failing pretty miserably.

I came across references to the "Paleo Diet" and a link to the Daily Apple on another forum I'm on (too much time in front of the keyboard!), and it just "clicked". I downloaded the book, and the discussion about our evolutionary path and how our bodies were engineered to work just made perfect sense. I was floored to finally understand how our body reacts to the carbs and just how destructive they can be.

I see that reflected exactly in myself an my children. Two of my sons (20 and 9) and my step-daughter seem to have the "lucky" metabolism that keeps them skinny and fit. My oldest son, however, has put on way too much weight and his efforts to lose it have failed. My 12-yr old daughter is on the edge -- but the potential for her to put on pounds in her teenage years is there. And of course, I've been carrying a spare tire for more years than I care to count!