Thread: Bone Broth and Grassfed/Grain finished beef page

Catrin is offline Senior Member

Bone Broth and Grassfed/Grain finished beef

Primal Fuel
    I am new to the idea of bone broth. Before my decision to go Primal a few weeks back I hadn't even eaten beef - period - for well over 3 years. I've been reading on how nutritious bone broth is - and am especially interested in the calcium and other minerals available as a 50+ year old woman who is stepping away from the massive amounts of dairy I've been consuming.

My grass-fed farmer sold me some soup bones - there is a fair amount of meat on them. I figure if nothing else I can cook 3-4 soup bones for a couple of hours in the crock pot - remove the meat, add apple vinegar, and keep cooking the bones for another day or so. Is this the best approach?

I TRIED to make chicken bone broth last weekend - but about 25 hours into it I lost my power for 5 hours. Couldn't put a hot crock pot in a powerless fridge, figured it sitting there for 5 hours on the counter made for a fine bacteria breeding ground...I put it in the fridge later for disposal the next day. It was pure gelatin the next day that was stuck to the bones I had left in it. Hopefully better luck the next time and I will be able to actually taste/use the broth.

Misti is offline Member
    That approach will work, Catrin. It's pretty much what we do, although some people love to roast half of the bones for the richness it adds to the broth. You lose some of the gelatin that way, but it is yummy.

Quote Originally Posted by Misti View Post
    That approach will work, Catrin. It's pretty much what we do, although some people love to roast half of the bones for the richness it adds to the broth. You lose some of the gelatin that way, but it is yummy.