Thread: Dairy - yes or no? page

Stacy15 is offline Senior Member

Dairy - yes or no?

Primal Fuel
    I'm a newbie on Week 5 of no grain/starch/sugar. The first weeks were more so following Atkins until I found this site and discovered Primal sounds like a better fit for me since I don't plan to re-introduce grains. Reading as much as I can the last weeks, dairy is still confusing me. Some do, some don't? I use butter on steaks and veggies, been eating some cheese, and use heavy cream in coffee. This a no-no, or ok if my body ok with it?

I need to lose around 50 lbs, but feeling awesome is goal #1, so I'm fine with slow weight loss if it means I get to enjoy butter and cheese sometimes...

Leida is offline Senior Member
    With dairy, if you have made dairy elimination before and did not experience any negative consequences on re-introduction (weight gain, stuffy nose, stomach upset, etc) you cna tolerate dairy and all foods you listed are included into PB.
    My Journal: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread57916.html
    When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be.

MissJecka is offline Senior Member
    Like the previous comment, I, too, can tolerate dairy just fine. I can eat half a pint of ice cream or a big glass of kefir and feel peachy keen afterwards. (I don't drink milk because I just don't have the taste for it and I rarely eat cheese anymore; however, again, ice cream and some yogurts are a-okay in my book!) I don't consume this stuff daily and sometimes not even weekly - maybe a handful of times per month I will eat dairy products.

But, that's me.

Try cutting out dairy. If you can reintroduce it without issue, then you can make it a regular thing if you want to. Go for full-fat if you do; ideally, go for raw.

Here's Mark's take on it: The Definitive Guide to Dairy | Mark's Daily Apple
    >> Current Stats: 90% Primal / 143 lbs / ~25% BF
    >> Goal (by 1 Jan 2014): 90% Primal / 135-ish pounds / 20-22% BF