Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Carb Cravings page

PrimalPat is offline Junior Member

Carb Cravings

Primal Fuel
    I've been eating Primal for many months with a lot of success. I typically eat fairly low-carb during the week (maybe 50-100g) but I allow myself more on Saturdays. Rice, noodles, potatoes, sweet potatoes, especially when eating put which is most Saturdays!

My problem is that every Sunday/Monday I go through crazy carb withdrawal symptoms. I makes my life difficult -for two days every week, but I certainly won't stop eating out and enjoying more carbs on the week-ends!

My question is: How do you handle carb cravings? Any tips to make the transition easier and faster?

Has anyone tried the Cyclic Ketogenic Diet? If so how do you handle cravings?

Thanks for your help!

Penady is offline Senior Member
    For me, I really have to either cut out the starches and sugars or severly limit them. Then the cravings go away after a couple days. If you're not willing to give up the going out, maybe try cutting back on quantity (wouldn't work for me...downward spiral and all that, but we might be different). Maybe one starchy dish ...either noodles, or rice, or potato, then back to Primal/paleo. Definitely don't make a whole day of it.

magicmerl is offline Senior Member
    I do eat more on the weekends socially like you do, but I still don't eat anything wheat based.

So if your craving are for wheat I can't help you sorry.

One thing I do after 'carbing' is to make sure that the breakfast the next day is a particularly high fat one. So bacon, eggs, onions, mushrooms and courgettes swimming in ghee (for example).
    Disclaimer: I eat 'meat and vegetables' ala Primal, although I don't agree with the carb curve. I like Perfect Health Diet and WAPF Lactofermentation a lot.

Griff's cholesterol primer
    5,000 Cal Fat <> 5,000 Cal Carbs
    Winterbike: What I eat every day is what other people eat to treat themselves.