Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Do I need more calories?? page

Moll is offline Member

Unhappy Do I need more calories??

Primal Fuel
    Hello Primal friends! I'm brand new to the scene. I started eating Primally on Tuesday of last week, so I'm on day 6. I'm also a brand new meat eater - I've been vegetarian for 17 years and vegan for the last 5. I'm extremely knowledgeable about macro nutrients as far as NON-meat food goes, but since I don't have a clue as to meat, I used Livestrong's Daily Plate to track my calories for the last 2 days. The first day I clocked 997 cals, and the second day (trying reeeeally hard to EAT) I got in 1180. Yesterday's nutrient breakdown was 55% fat, and 22.5% for both carbs and protein (the banana got me). I'm definitely going for weight LOSS - I'm female, 27, 5'4, and 190 lbs. I wasn't at all hungry yesterday after about 900 cals, but I tried to make myself eat because I don't want to deprive my body of what it needs. So does anyone have any advice? Should I take a shot of coconut oil once in a while (lol...but seriously)? Is it ok to have that much of a calorie deficit? I'd like to be able to "listen to my body," but I find that I'm slow to actually recognize physical indicators. Anyway, sorry for the mass of info, I just want to be as successful as possible, and any advice people have would be wonderful! Thanks, everybody!

Dirlot is offline Senior Member
    Can you give an example of your meals and portion sizes...calories seem low.
    Eating primal is not a diet, it is a way of life.
    PS
    Don't forget to play!

Moll is offline Member
    Sure - thanks for the reply!

Cod - 6ish oz
    Spinach - 1 cup
    Olive Oil - 1/2 Tbsp

Lettuce - 3? cups
    Onion - 1 Tbsp
    Cucumber - 1/2 cup sliced
    Avocado - 1/2
    Pepper - 1/2 cup
    Smoked Whitefish - 2-3 oz
    Olive Oil - 1/2 tbsp

Bacon - 2 slices
    Kale - 1 cup
    Garlic - 1 clove
    Lemon Juice - 1 Tbsp
    Green Beans - 1 1/2 cups
    Olive Oil - 1/2 - 1 Tbsp