Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Is Skipping Meat Okay? page

5kfunrun is offline Junior Member

Question Is Skipping Meat Okay?

Primal Fuel
    Hi! I'm really new to this whole Primal Eating lifestyle. Prior to changing up my diet, I was almost Vegetarian. I'm finding that if I eat meat all week, I start feeling a little overwhelmed by all of the animal protein. Is it okay to skip eating meat for a meal or two? For example, this morning I didn't quite feel like I could handle bacon and eggs today, so I drank a glass of raw milk (yeah, yeah, I know it's not totally primal and had some fruit.

Thanks so much!

Gilleh is offline Senior Member
    It's totally OK.
    Everything is bad for something - How do you feel today?

MissJecka is offline Senior Member
    Who says raw milk isn't primal? It's in a "grey area", as Mark says, but it's fine if you can tolerate dairy. The Definitive Guide to Dairy | Mark's Daily Apple

You don't have to eat meat for every meal if you don't want to... unless someone has a gun at your head, which I doubt is the case! I only eat two meals a day, but today I'm eating 3 for a reason that's not important. For breakfast I made a smoothie out of coconut milk, macadamia nuts, water, ice, and some spices and seasonings. No meat, but good amount of protein and fat to hold me over to my actual lunch.

Just listen to your body, which is what it seems like you're doing already. But if you find that you are not consuming enough protein and too many carbs, you may need to find a meat you enjoy. Do you like seafood? Many times I enjoy a can of tuna with home-made mayo and veggies for my "first meal"!

Also, on a side-note, I was basically vegan before I started living a paleo/primal/whatever-you-wanna-call-it lifestyle. Talk about shock! I know what you're going through when it comes to re-introducing animal products, and so do these folks:

Sweetly Raw: Coming Out - My World Upside Down, To Right Side Up