Thread: Sherry-Shallot Glaze for Chicken (pics) page

PatioDaddio is offline Junior Member

Sherry-Shallot Glaze for Chicken (pics)

Shop Now
    I'm a BBQ cook and blogger who is totally new to all things Grok. I just received the books and I'm looking forward to eliminating my noob status soon.

I recently posted this on my blog and realized that I could adapt it (changes in red) to be fairly primal, so I thought I'd throw it up here.

Sherry-Shallot Glaze for Chicken

Who doesn't like barbecued chicken? I'm sure that there are a few freaks out there, but most of us love it. Here's a fresh spin on the familiar backyard favorite.

My girls frequently ask me what's my favorite thing to barbecue, and I always answer, "Chicken!". After they ask me that familiar question (why can't they remember?) I usually ponder why chicken is my favorite meat to barbecue. The only honest answer is that I just don't know. The most prominent reason that comes to mind is the years of my youth when I used to hang out at the grill with my maternal grandfather as he grilled chicken that I can taste in my mind to this day.

This is a recipe that I found scrawled on a piece of paper from probably 15 years ago. Back then I wrote very few recipes, so it was almost a quasi-nostalgic thing when I found it. Of course I couldn't leave well enough alone. I simply couldn't resist the urge to tweak it.

As I put this sauce together I thought that it's almost a French version of a typical American barbecue sauce. It has many of the familiar base ingredients, but it brings a new twist to the table. My girls gave it great reviews, and I think you'll dig it.

Here's what I came up with using my inspirational blast from the past.

Ingredients
    1 Tbsp Extra virgin olive oil
    1/3 cup Minced shallots
    1/4 tsp Black pepper, ground fresh
    1/2 tsp Garlic salt
    3/4 cup Dry sherry
    1/3 cup White wine vinegar
    1 Tbsp Dijon mustard (I used Grey Poupon)
    1 Tbsp Tomato paste
    2 Tbsp Honey