Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Poll for the girls page

byebyecw Guest

Hi All,

I'm new to PB, found MDA a few weeks ago.

Brief history: Female, 45 yo, need to lose 20 lbs. Have needed to lose the same 20 lbs for years and it hasn't budged at all. My mom was recently diagnosed with type 2 diabetes so I figured I better get my act together. I haven't had any health problems except the extra weight I haven't been able to lose and the fatigue that went with a high carb diet. I'm pretty sure I'm insulin and leptin resistant.

I cut out sugar and white flour at the beginning of the year then went totally whole food and cut out artificial sweeteners, too. I was pretty close to primal when I found MDA, and have since cut out all grains and most dairy. I buy as much organic as I can. I have been completely PB (except the Friday night cheat meal) for 2 weeks.

So, here's what I would like to poll you about; how long did it take you (the girls) to start dropping the fat? Did you make adjustments along the way that made PB work for you? Did you realize you were eating too much, or not enough, or too frequently or not working out hard enough? Did you just have to be patient until your body started working again? I feel great and I know my body is healing and changing, so I'm not going back to SAD even if I never lose anything, but I'd like to hear some stories about your beginnings.

Don't mean leave out the men (I've learned so much from all of you), but your fat loss info isn't too relative to me (apples to oranges, you know). My husband can lose 4 pounds in a week just by saying, "I'm going to lose weight." He is now forbidden to tell me how much weight he loses, ever. I've picked out a primal club, just in case. I know not all men can do that, but it seems most men respond more quickly to PB than the women do.

I have lost 2 lbs, but I know damn well it's just hiding under my bed waiting to jump back on. I have been up and down the same 2 lbs for the past 3 months.