Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: chickprimal's journal page

chickprimal is offline Member

chickprimal's journal

I just wanted to introduce myself and have a spot to document. There is also a link to my blog in my profile. I'm soon to be 40 with a great husband and two teenagers. I live in WI.

I'm no newbie to low carb. I was super successful at it for years . I have spent the last few years on and off and trying all kinds of versions and I am pretty darn fat as a result of all that on and off. So here I am back to the most basic of lower carb plans I could find.

I really enjoyed reading the website and can't wait for my book to arrive. I promised myself I would not give this a short trial and then say it wasn't working so I will stay the course until mid July and then evaluate!

I see occasional drinking is ok but I will stay out of the wine for at least 30 days. I'd really like to say until mid July but I'll take it in 30 day chunks.

I started today without coffee. So far so good.

I think I goofed a bit as I just read no processed meats. I ate 2 sausages with my veggie quiche.

Sharonll is offline Senior Member

Hello, chickprimal, and congratulations for finding your way here. I know what that's like, the long winding journey and finally saying, "Hey! This might actually be what I was looking for all along!"

As far as the processed meats, if you're a sausage addict like me, you might want to make some compromises. I've studied a lot about nitrites, and have decided they're acceptable, as the "no nitrite" processors are typically using celery juice, which is loaded with nitrites, but the producers aren't forced by the FDA to actually list that on the packaging.