Thread: frozen fruit - pasteurized?! page

SarahW is offline Senior Member

frozen fruit - pasteurized?!

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    I'm new to the primal thing, so feel free to critique my approach as you see fit:

On mornings when I don't feel like making eggs, or when no one has done the dishes recently, I like to make breakfast by filling up the blender with spinach, pouring coconut milk over it, mixing that up until the spinach is all blended, adding in some frozen fruit, and then putting the blender down to the lowest setting and mixing in an egg for a few seconds.

Sometimes the frozen fruit is strawberries and blueberries and maybe some mango that I got from the mango tree in my backyard this summer. But a few months ago (before I ever heard of primal) I found in the frozen section of Publix little bags of pureed tropical fruits, some by Goya and some by the other major hispanic brand I can't remember the name of. They are mostly orange or purple fruits which I also can't remember the name of, only that I know when I see them in the produce market I give them a wide berth because they have tentacle looking things or spiky rinds or whatever (I'm originally from the Midwest, okay?). And the little frozen packages are dirt cheap, regularly going on sale for a buck each. Anyways, the front of the package says 100% fruit, so I thought it was okay, but I've learned to read packages carefully, and the other day noticed in small print on the back that it says that the fruit has been pasteurized.

Pasteurized frozen fruit? It's frozen, it's fruit, why pasteurize it? I did a quick google search and all I came up with was the stupid "food safety" line. I'm still befuddled.