Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Diet making me sick? page

Beefsister is offline Senior Member

Primal Fuel

Hello! I'm a newbie to this whole paleo thing, and have recently taken to eating low carb (two days ago). I have always been a pretty big grain eater, and recently became a veggie for a short time to see how I felt, (not to bad actually, but maybe I only got away with it as I'm young and active. I actually ate a little less grain as a veggie than on my Americanized diet, but I digress).

Anyway, I decided to give low carb a shot, and I currently feel kind of sick. After giving up my beloved bread, pasta, beans, etc, I've been feeling nauseous, got a bit of the runs, and also feel light headed.

Is it normal to get sick like this at first? I've pretty much been only eating eggs, meat, and lots and lots of butter with the occasional odd veggie tossed in.

If this is normal, please tell me it won't last too long XD

Remember, you are unique just like everybody else.

jermicide is offline Member

try eating a lot more raw brightly colored vegetables... spinach, tomato, broccoli, etc.. if you're eating MOSTLY meat with an odd vegetable every now and then, you're missing a lot of vitamins.

Plaid Dad is offline Junior Member

Yup, totally normal. We call it the "low-carb flu." The first three to five days are the worst, at least in my experience. Hang in there!

Canarygirl is offline Senior Member
    Just what is "low carb flu," anyway? It didn't hit me until after 2+ weeks eating >100gms carb per day. I even went home from work yesterday, feeling weak, light headed, foggy-brained. I'm sure I'm getting enough calories, so it's not that, and I take mulitvitamin/mineral supps so it's not that. Is it my fat cells releasing toxins into the bloodstream, and my body not used to dealing with all those toxins?

Griff is offline Senior Member