Thread: Question about fasting page

Question about fasting

Primal Fuel
    Hi,

I have looked ont his board through 5 pages and couldn't find a thread about this so I apologise if I am repeating anything on here!

I am new to this and was just wondering how one should go about fasting. I personally have a lot of fat stores for my body to use up so that isn't a problem, I was just wondering how a starter should go about doing this?

I was thinking about doing something similar to what muslims do during ramadam (sp) to start off with and that is a sort of 18 hour fast, only eat when the sun goes down for a week and then maybe progress to say 24 hour IF 1 day fast 1 day off, for a week and then progress to a 5 day fast. Obviously I wouldn't do this straight after eachother which brings me to my next question, how often should one fast?

I think that it is obvious why primal man fasted, shortage of food, and because food is so easily accessible these days that it is basically made us over eat. So therefore, should one fast more say in the winter than in summer?

I was thinking of fasting once every 3 months or so...

Thanks for any advice in advance

magicmerl is offline Senior Member
    If you use the forum search functions, you can see Pklopps excellent primers (part 1, part 2 and part 3).

Plus, Mark wrote about 10 posts (here's one) on the front page of the site. Try using the search function there too.
    Disclaimer: I eat 'meat and vegetables' ala Primal, although I don't agree with the carb curve. I like Perfect Health Diet and WAPF Lactofermentation a lot.

Griff's cholesterol primer
    5,000 Cal Fat <> 5,000 Cal Carbs
    Winterbike: What I eat every day is what other people eat to treat themselves.
    TQP: I find for me that nutrition is much more important than what I do in the gym.
    bloodorchid is always right

Omni is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by urbancaveman View Post