Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Eating Primal for 5months and Can't move my bowels, why? page

acafer is offline Junior Member

Eating Primal for 5months and Can't move my bowels, why?

Primal Fuel
    Can anybody give me some advice?
    I have been eating Primal to a tee for 5 months I feel great, look great (lost 19 pounds) but my bowels are very sluggish. I maybe have a bowel movement once a week and it is not much. Funny thing is I am not blotted or gassy (which is awesome to finally get rid of). I eat tons of vegetables enough seeds and nuts and fat, good quality meat and eggs and berries as my fruit. I am also keeping myself hydrated. Exercising is not a problem everyday I am moving a lot.

Is this normal? I visited my GI doctor this week for a checkup (I have a history of SIBO, small intestinal bacterial overgrowth which is gone!) he was concerned about my new way of eating no grains and told me to add the grains back so I have more bulk to move my bowels. Now I do not know what to do. Do I add back the grains that make me feel like crap just so I can move my bowels more than once a week? I do feel like I need to go but nothing moves.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated,
    Amy

WeldingHank is offline Senior Member
    I had the same issue at about the same amount of months (5). I added in some more fat in the form of olive oil, coconut oil, and butter and everything cleared right up in about a week. I think its a natural process of your gut healing from wheat/gluten to the higher fat. Now I'm once a day when I wake up and thats it.

counterpuncher is offline Senior Member
    Agree with the fat suggestion.
    Plenty of water will help keep things moving too, along with a reasonable amount of good carbs.
    Don't know if you're a coffee drinker or not, but after I wake up in the morning, a few sips of black coffee sends me to the bathroom for a lifetime achievment crap every time, provided that I'm hydrated. Then I'm good for the rest of the day.