Thread: New to the Tribe page

barefooter is offline Junior Member

Primal Fuel

Howdy, hello. I'm a 10-day-old PB'r and wayward MDA reader from way back.

Friday before last, I was reading a friend's blog and she mentioned Whole30, which reminded me of MDA and so I came back and decided right that very minute to give up the hard ones (Grains, Dairy) and embrace to easy ones (Meat, Veg, Fruit) and have done so with one exception (dinner party, see below) for the last 10 days.

I'm officially joining the forum because I find myself returning here often for a sense of camaraderie and shared experience. After doing so nearly everyday since my PB switch, I figure I'm better off outing myself than lurking.

Best things about PB so far:

- Energy/Attitude/Optimism

- Sleeping Well, Dreaming Vividly

- I totally smell better

- I am a good cook and didn't know it!

- (Possibly related) Food tastes awesome.

Worst things about PB so far:

- Living with a hardcore vegetarian

- How it feels to eat grains/dairy/sugar now

THE DINNER PARTY

On Thursday before the Friday I went primal, I gloated to our dinner party hosts that I was easy and would eat anything... and that my partner is generally a picky eater, but loves pizza. So we arrive and there are homemade artichoke, spinach, sun-dried tomato, sauteed onion pizzas for us with a golden beet and panko-breaded fried goat cheese salad and this crazy chocolate tasty thing for dessert.

The meal was fantastic. And I enjoyed myself and didn't feel bad about anything. But after, it was like my body went into rebellion. I woke up in the middle of the night and didn't get back to sleep. I was hot, restless, angry, short-tempered. I even smelled bad -- I haven't need deodorant since starting PB.