Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question re: reps and frequency. page

arewolfe is offline Junior Member

Question re: reps and frequency.

Primal Fuel
    I am an avid hiker/skier, so I've been using dumbells and doing pushups to keep my upper body from falling behind. My question is about frequency of lifting: I do overheard presses followed directly by curls. I do three sets of 10 on each of those exercises all in a row (six sets back to back without putting the dumbells down). So during the first sets I don't feel much of a burn, but by the end of the third sets I am pretty rocked and my heart rate is way up and I feel pretty maxed out.

The weird thing is, I'm never sore the next day in my shoulders or biceps. Normally I do this exercise every other day, or every third day. But I'm wondering if it's OK to just do it every day since I'm not sore the next day? Or should I look at doing more weight and less reps? I have no experience with weight training so any advice is welcome.

Edit: I should mention that when I get to the third set of presses, I usually cannot make it to 10 reps.
    Last edited by arewolfe; 08-09-2012 at 07:45 AM.

Scott F is offline Senior Member
    I follow a HIT program for what you are looking for.

VIDEOS

http://www.bodybyscience.net/home.html/
    Would I be putting a grain-feed cow on a fad diet if I took it out of the feedlot and put it on pasture eating the grass nature intended?

jakey is offline Senior Member
    if you want to feel sore, you need to use a heavier weight and train more intensely, with more time off too. you're likely taxing your heart quite a bit, and working a good build up of lactic acid, but as a strength training program, this is way, way defficient.

federkeil is offline Senior Member
    If you want to keep your upperbody in line with your lowerbody....

Pullups.

And then pushups, or press. You'll get much more bang from Pullups than anything else.