Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: best tuber/root veggie for breakfast hash page

treyevans is offline Junior Member

best tuber/root veggie for breakfast hash

Primal Fuel
    Alright guys, I'm really struggling here. I'm trying to figure out the best carbohydrate to incorporate into my high intensity workout day breakfast hash (3 times a week). So far I've been experimenting with turnip and rutabaga, and am also considering just saying screw it and throw in a small amount of some variety of potato. I'm an engineer so I am going to present the problem within a scientific methodical structure

Objective: finding a carbohydrate root/tuber vegetable to cook into my breakfast hash that strikes the right balance between carb content, fiber content, and micro-nutritional value.

Application: breakfast, with egg and bacon or sausage or some sort of steak (beef shoulder, deer, etc.). When I have the time I add fresh peppers, onion, mushroom and what ever else is left over in the fridge.

Experimental Data:

Turnip: high in water content and simply doesn't cook very well in bacon fat, butter or oil. I just purchased a food dehydrator which I plan on experimenting with this weekend, but my concern is the amount of food prep time this will amount to (I'm an extremely busy working professional), and the loss of nutritional content by dehydrating, which is one of the main things I am looking for in a regular breakfast hash carb ingredient.

Rutabaga: They cook well in bacon fat, butter, and oil, but from what I've read I'm not really getting much more nutritional content, any less carbs, and no more fiber compared to potatoes.

Beets: haven't really experimented with them yet, and would like some of yall's experiences with cooking beets for breakfast hash.

There are plenty of other options and variables that I'm hoping some of yall can bring to the table and help me solve my problem. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys!

Trey