Thread: New to Forums! Nutritional Coach & RN page

AnnieJames is offline Junior Member

New to Forums! Nutritional Coach & RN

Shop Now
    Hi- my name is Annie.
    I am new to the Primal Forums although I have been practicing Paleo/Primal eating for about a year now. I am a nutritional therapist and RN part time in the hospital setting. I work primarily with emotional eating, eating disorders and chronic dieters to help heal the negative "self image" as well as promote dietary change. The transition for me to this way of eating has been quite profound as I was raised vegetarian. I have also seen amazing results with eating disorders as the hormonal imbalance from low fat dieting balances out.

I am absolutely amazed at what this site has done for so many people. What an inspiration! I love to see people heal I guess that is why I am in the profession I am in.
    Anyways thought I would introduce myself.
    Annie

Lewis is offline Senior Member
    Hi, that's very interesting -- specially the bit about low-fat eating causing problems for people. I'd heard that elsewhere.

I find the stuff people like Julia Ross and Pam Killeen are doing with drug and other substance addictions and addictive behaviors (including eating disorders) interesting, from what I've heard. That seems to involve moving people away from contemporary eating habits and back towards "traditional" diets as well as giving extra support in the form of providing the precursors to particular neurotransmitters that particular individuals are low in.

What do you think of that kind of approach? Would you agree that insufficient protein or low-quality protein sources can contribute to those problems? Insofar as supplying, say, 5HTP or tryptophan can help someone that would seem to be the inevitable conclusion.