Thread: Question about Shoes and Tendons page

Wildrose is offline Senior Member

Question Question about Shoes and Tendons

Shop Now
    Hi everyone! I'm new to the Primal Blueprint, and feeling great about it! I suppose I'm more paleo since I started with Robb Wolfe's book, but as far as I can tell it's the same thing. Anywho! Let me start off with who I am.

I'm a mostly sedentary desk jockey, 34 years old, 297 pounds (was 355!) and feeling pretty darn good at the moment. However, I thought I would try walking barefoot. I actually took my shoes off and literally walked barefoot for half my walk, it was fun! However, not the wisest as I definitely spotted some glass on a second walk. Anyway, I tried to get some Vibrams but I can't wear them. I can't get them on. The guy at Atmosphere said I have high arches. As far as I can tell, it's bone and meat, not fat, so I doubt the shape of my foot will change. Can anyone recommend good substitutes? And are crocs an okay substitute? XD I'm a croc kinda gal. I have a dozen pairs, and sandals too!

Now to my next question... when I wake up in the morning, particularly after a walk, my heels hurt. It's actually the back of my foot, and my chiropractor says it's my achilles tendon. Last time I went there she said it was tight as a drum. I've been icing my feet after walks, and I think that helps. I also got a lacross ball to roll my legs on. Does anyone have any exercises I could do at my computer to keep it loose? I should add, the pain in the morning usually wears off after a while. I went to the chiropractor about it when it suddenly got pretty spectacular. (2 hr walk, hehe)

Owly is offline Senior Member
    You might look for a pair of VFF Sprints or Classics. They're open on the top--the Sprints have a strap, the Classics don't--and they might offer a little more room for your arches. You may find your feet change a lot as you lose more weight as well. A lot of women I know actually ended up in a smaller shoe size!