Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Problem with free range chicken feet? page

Theresa92 is offline Senior Member

Problem with free range chicken feet?

Shop Now
    Today I got about 1.5 pounds of chicken feet from a local farm. They are 100% free range, natural, etc. I bought chicken feet before, but only at the grocery store. This is my first time buying through a local small farm that raises the chickens naturally.

Anyway, the chicken I got today all had this black callous on the bottom of their foot. The callouses almost looked like an abnormal growth. It was strange, the chicken feet from the supermarket did NOT have this callous... The callouses were like scabs. They were discolored-brown. The callouses were a part of the chicken foot, I had to cut them out. I don't think that this is normal? I am in the process of contacting the farm that I got these from to see what this is. I figured I'd also ask on here.

I did a bit of research online, and apparently sometimes chickens can get an infection which can create scabs on the bottom of their feet. Not sure if that is what these chickens had.

If anyone can help me, I'd appreciate it. I'm kinda bummed out because I was really excited to make stock with the chicken feet. Has anyone gotten chicken feet from a farm and seen these callouses? Should I just throw the feet away?

Rasputina is offline Senior Member
    Um, don't eat calloused chicken-feet. Those chickens have been working out, and have picked up some locker room fungus. Actually, don't eat chicken feet, okay?

cori93437 is offline Senior Member
    Can you load a picture or describe the callouses better.

There is a condition that occurs in chickens called Bumblefoot... but it is usually only in a very few birds. It is caused by injuring the bottoms of the feet sometimes by splintery perches or cuts from hard surfaces.
    It generally looks like a large swollen round area in the center of the foot with a round brown scab in the center.