Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Let's talk hunger, snacking, and foods one is "allowed" to eat page

superseiyan is offline Member

Let's talk hunger, snacking, and foods one is "allowed" to eat

I’m 30yo male. I’m active blueprint style i.e. no chronic cardio, and I’m not a gym rat, although I do occasional sprints and I do short weight sessions twice a week. I'm not trying to lose wait, but I want to keep the "in shape toned look" that I have. I’ve been tailoring my diet to primal for about 14-16 months or so as a rough guess.

My problem is there are times I lapse into eating a biscuit, or some flatbread, or other none-primal stuff. I know we’re not allowed nuts, dairy, artificial sweeteners, grains, etc etc. I generally can avoid that stuff when I’m sane. It’s when I get the hunger pang or when I wake up at night and go to the fridge, and there isn’t anything appealing to snack on. I'm seeking help from you on adding variety,

Cheese (dairy) and Fruit are also “not allowed” I think or if they are they’re supposed to be “in moderation”. For me “in moderation” is code for “there should be some guilt attached in eating it”, reason is I figure if something’s whole food and/or good to eat you might as well eat it and enjoy it without regret. I’m NOT talking about gorging yourself until you’re sick, but I mean you should be able to eat the food with a clear conscience no? That’s why I consider “eat in moderation” foods to be essentially “not allowed”.

Anyway, I’ve tried to tailor my meal plan according to what’s allowed, and I’m finding compliance tough.

A typical meal plan:

Day 1:

Breakfast – omelete, 2 sausage links or patties, and some fruit salad.
    Lunch – protein snack bar or nuts
    Dinner – Large salad
    Dessert - Apple

Day 2:

Breakfast – none
    Lunch – various meats from the buffet at work
    Dinner – 3 beef patties
    Dessert – Greek yogurt with berries.