Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Nutrition for muscle gain page

mgage is offline Junior Member

Nutrition for muscle gain

Primal Fuel
    Hi all,

If I understand Mark's post on gaining weight and increasing muscle correctly, it sounds like I should still roughly maintain my current macronutrient levels. Right now, I'm getting about 50% or so of my calories from fat, around 20% or less from carbs, and 30-35% from protein. However, that is on a calorie deficit so it works out to something like 85g of fat, 70g of carbs, and 95-100g of protein on a normal day. I've been doing that for a few months and have had great weight loss success. However, I've decided to pack ona few pounds of muscle, and then go back to the calorie deficit. My goal is more body fat % than end weight and I've heard it might behoove me to add the weight now before I get all the way down.

So, the situation now is that I figure I need to eat around 3,200 cals a day and I should take in around 200g or so of protein. That leaves me eating around 195g of fat and 165g of carbs if I kept roughly the same macros. Is that right? It just worries me that it's high carb and high fat. I know I could drop the fat, but I'm worried about eating enough if I do that. I'm really satisfied now at 1300-1400 cals and am really not sure how I will eat 3200 (or afford it).

Thanks for the help.

Leida is offline Senior Member
    Holy cow, that some serious jump in calories. Before you do anything this extreme, I would just go with 1.5 g of protein per lb of body weight, and let the other two macros to fall to 20% fat on lifting days (and the rest in carbs) and 40-60% on non-lifting days (and low carb). Bulking up from higher body weight, watch your muscle to fat gaining ratio. If you are gaining >25% of your bulk in fat, I'd suggest cutting super low first, then bulking up from that ultra-lean state.
    My Journal: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread57916.html