Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Unfavorable O6:O3 in eggs? page

Theresa92 is offline Senior Member

Unfavorable O6:O3 in eggs?

Shop Now
    I enjoy eating eggs for breakfast for breakfast. It's pretty been my "go to" breakfast about 75% of the time the past few months. Usually I eat about 4 eggs either soft boiled(with the yolk still runny) or scrambled in a bit of ghee. I always thought that this was a healthy breakfast.

Just now while researching O3 supplements, I came across a food tracker called "Paleo Track" that tells you the O6:O3 in the foods you eat. I typed in 4 eggs and it gave me an unfavorable ratio with O6 being double of the O3. I'm relatively new to Primal, so could somebody please explain to me whether eating 4 eggs everyday for breakfast truly is considered healthy? Should I be not eating so many eggs? Unfortunately, I am not able to afford quality eggs. I buy my eggs from Walmart. I need to lose about 10-15 pounds, so that is primarily why I am worried about the unfavorable ratio.

Also as a quick side question... could somebody please recommend a quality but also affordable Omega 3 supplement, and a vitamin D supplement? I am not sure at all which brand to buy, how much to take, when to take it, etc. Pretty much, I am clueless. Does the Primal community have some sort of general agreement on which brands of supplements are recommended? Thank you for any advice.

magicmerl is offline Senior Member
    A 1:2 ratio is fine. It's the 1:10 ratios you should avoid like the plague.
    Disclaimer: I eat 'meat and vegetables' ala Primal, although I don't agree with the carb curve. I like Perfect Health Diet and WAPF Lactofermentation a lot.

Griff's cholesterol primer
    5,000 Cal Fat <> 5,000 Cal Carbs
    Winterbike: What I eat every day is what other people eat to treat themselves.
    TQP: I find for me that nutrition is much more important than what I do in the gym.
    bloodorchid is always right

peril is offline Senior Member