Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: knee issues while heavy lifting any advice page

gdonnellyjr is offline Junior Member

knee issues while heavy lifting any advice

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Im very active, my job is strenuous and I work out 5 days a week but, I have been suffering from chronic dislocating petella. After being primal for over two months and from day one doing primal fitness and my knee felt great, but I recently started lifting at the gym squats and power cleans and my knee is a wreck. Common sense says if it hurts dont do it but I am really dedicated and want the most out of my workojts any advice?

JVib is offline Senior Member
    I gave up weights and went with bodyweight workouts. I'm 43 years old and suffered too many injuries lifting heavy weight. A good body weight program is challenging and has far less risk of injury.

Personally, I'm getting better results with combined primal/paleo eating and body weight exercises than I ever did from CW eating and weight training.
    "You have succeeded in life when all you really want is only what you really need." ~ Vernon Howard

skeedaddy is offline Member
    Check out the advice of Mark Rippetoe and Lon Kilgore as found in "Starting Strength". He explains the stresses imposed on the knees during squating, and how to minimize them. Grok ON!

Danielle5690 is offline Senior Member
    I have experienced and heard from others that proper form makes a huge difference in how your knees feel during squats, either with or without weight. Have you had someone check/correct your form?

gdonnellyjr is offline Junior Member
    Yes I have been trained previously but I did an experiment with weights and just body weight and im having tremendous results with just body weight and following a lot of the advice of a man named al kavadlo at alkavadlo.com his body weight work out leave me feeling energized and feeling good. So I dropping the weights for now.

ryan54 is offline Member