Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Going Primal while endurance training.....bad idea? page

Andynick is offline Junior Member

Going Primal while endurance training.....bad idea?

Primal Fuel
    I am new to this whole Primal way of living. I love the concepts and simplicity. I am training to run a marathon in the fall. I have run two marathons before and a couple half-marathons. I have of course been eating lots of carbs and haven't lost any weight really with all the training I do. I don't have a lot of weight to lose, I'm not overweight, but I definitely have some fat to burn! I want to become a "fat-burning machine", but I am finding it difficult while training. I do two workout runs a week, and one long run. I also do a couple really easy runs and cycle once a week. I fit in some yoga and weights in there when I can. I have been trying to eat more carbs on the heavy workout days (bananas, sweet potatoes), and after a long run. I am finding some of my workouts to be lagging due to the lower carb intake, but I will just keep going and see what happens. Will I still be albe to become a fat-burner??? Any information is greatly appreciated!! Thanks!

Anonymous Guest
    now i remember why i stopped coming here.
    Last edited by timconradinc; 07-25-2012 at 03:37 PM.

primal pete is offline Senior Member
    I guess that last statement saves your post... because this whole fat burner carb burner discussion is total nonsense.

Here's the thing: Carbs and Primal are not mutually exclusive. You can eat high carbohydrate paleo approved foods such potatoes. If you are training above the aerobic threshold regularly, then carbohydrates are by far a better fuel choice than fat. You will have more energy during your workouts, and you will recover more quickly. You will need glycogen if you're above the aerobic threshold. That is an indisputable scientific fact. Carbohydrates replenish glycogen, which gets very depleted when doing things like a marathon.