Thread: when your body is trying to heal - what are the best things for it? page

sunshine* is offline Junior Member

when your body is trying to heal - what are the best things for it?

Primal Fuel
    Hi all

I've been eating paleo (but with dairy) for almost 2 months now. Feel pretty good, have lost approx 13kg, feel fitter (despite not exercising - due to illness), look healthier etc, etc!

I am about to have surgery in a couple of days - a laparoscopy for endometriosis (second one in 5 years) and i have been on a liquid diet for 2 days. Blergh - feel horrible.

My main point I guess is that once i've had the surgery, my body will be trying to heal itself and I want to do whatever i can - physically, nutritionally, whatever - to help my body heal as fast and as smoothly as possible, as well as continue to lose weight.

A bit of background: I'm on prozac 40mg, i am hypothytoid and take dessicated pig thyroid 120mg.

Any tips on what would be the best way to eat (certain nutrients) the best way to move (I wasn't exercising recently due to an extended and horrible viral flu which is finally clearing up) would be very much appreciated.

I need to lose weight ( I have approx 45kg to lose ) I am 6 feet tall, 32 years old and physically quite strong and have a muscly build.

thanks in advance!

Sabine is offline Senior Member
    Bone broth with lots of gelatin in it!

Some good additions for stirring in if you want to change up the flavor:
    a spoonful of pesto
    two spoonfuls of salsa, green or red
    olive tapenade

Darwin17 is offline Senior Member
    Walking has been proven to help with recovery....it sucks to do as you will be in some pain but it gets the body going. Also get plenty of sleep as that is when the body is primed to recover.

Keep on eating primal and the rest will follow but walking will do you wonders!!! Get plenty of sleep and you will be on the path to getting better and kick starting your path to health.